Monogoto: Partial Deletion Of Everything (Vol 1) (12k, 2020)

January 8, 2021 at 6:57 pm | Posted in Reviews | Leave a comment

Monogoto: Partial Deletion Of Everything (Vol 1)

The first release by the trio of Ian Hawgood, Porya Hatami, and David Newman is a 35-minute piece titled “Iuxta Mare [deletion 5]”. While all flowing down the same stream, the piece melds a lot of different sounds and approaches, from acoustic plucks to tattering effects and modular synth textures, and it sounds both carefully assembled and dreamlike happenstance. The decaying downward swoops and the intricate reversed notes, among other sounds, all give this one some character. It also floats far away from where it starts and goes through lots of changes which are hard to pick out individually — no hairpin turns, just subtle, constant evolution. It unmistakably sounds like a collaboration, as there’s such a wide range of ideas that one person seemingly wouldn’t have come up with on their own, but it’s a cohesive one that promises more paths yet to be taken.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: