v/a: Replicants 2LP (Inner Surface Music, 2015)

December 26, 2015 at 5:57 pm | Posted in Reviews | Leave a comment

v/a: Replicants 2LP

v/a: Replicants 2LP

AnD and Tom DiCicco’s Inner Surface Music presents a 2LP compilation with a quality lineup and lots of hard, battering techno. Some of the tracks are more straightforward and driving, but then some of it gets slower, more distorted, more grimy. O/H piles on a bunch of slurry, snarly punk-ish vocals, and Honzo slows it down to a blown-out industrial thud. Ontal’s “Spasm” strikes the best balance between a steady beat and waves of distortion, and then there’s Hoover synths to rinse everything out. The underrated Sturqen closes the set out with a slower, clanging industrial track which hammers out sparks and then powers down at the end.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: