What We’ll Be: Subject/Object 12″ (We Are All Machines, 2014)

August 5, 2014 at 10:18 pm | Posted in Reviews | Leave a comment

What We'll Be: Subject/Object 12"

What We’ll Be: Subject/Object 12″

Debut 12″ by this project of Pipé Scuttleworth, also of The Siege. The material that I’ve heard from that group sounded somewhat like a more overtly techno version of New Order to my ears, and this one has a similar live band electronic feel, but more downtempo. “Clara Moonglow’s Magic” has sort of a lonely desert highway drive vibe similar to FWY!, taking its sweet time to draw a straight line. “Opener For A Yoshi Maru Dragon Year” has a bit more complicated beat structures, but it still a calm atmosphere. “Snow Day” is an icy journey that takes a while to slowly wake up, but eventually rides gliding synths through a ticking beat before crumbling into gravel. “Yoshi’s Quaalude” is briefer and more kompakt, packing twinkling melodies and a steady beat into a couple of all-too-short minutes.


Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: